(Re)Mastering Death: Relapse Set To Re-release Another DEATH Album


In a not very surprising move, Relapse records has announced that they will be re-releasing another Death album. This time it’s the band’s classic 1990 album “Spiritual Healing” that is getting an auditory face lift. The remastered album will feature several bonus tracks and have several different package options to choose from. “Spiritual Healing” part duex is set to ship out on November 20th if you live in the US.

Most of the time I don’t support re-releasing non hard to get album because I see it nothing more than cash grab by the label aimed at die hard fans. However, some of the package deals offered by Relapse on this one are pretty cool. Continue reading for the rest of the details –

The next chapter in Relapse’s DEATH reissue campaign is the landmark, genre-defining album Spiritual Healing. Originally released in 1990, Spiritual Healing marked a new turn in the Death discography, one which ushered in cleaner production, a new level of boundary pushing musicianship and songwriting skills that were previously unimaginable from a metal band. Spiritual Healing sets the standard for riffs, insane time changes and of course mainman Chuck Schuldiner’s masterful guitar solos. Now reissued as a double CD housed in super deluxe packaging featuring brand new liner notes from Death players James Murphy and Terry Butler, Chuck’s sister Beth Schuldiner and Volbeat frontman Michael Poulsen, Disc 1 features a completely new remaster of the original album and Disc 2 contains 16 previously unreleased rehearsal, outtakes and studio instrumentals. A remastered version of the track “Living Monstrosity” can be heard here.
In addition to the 2-Disc edition, limited edition (2000 machine numbered copies) triple CD digipak will be available exclusively from www.relapse.com. The third CD features a never before released live set recorded in 1990 featuring the Spiritual Healing Death line up. An iTunes deluxe edition will also be released containing 5 additional previously unreleased pre-Human rehearsal tracks not available on either of the CD versions. The entire tracklisting is available below.
Spiritual Healing is set for a November 20th North American release date, November 16th in the Benelux / Germany / Finland, and November 19th in the UK and rest of World. Spiritual Healing follows the recent Relapse Records re-issues of DEATH classics Individual Thought Patterns, The Sound of Perseverance, Human, and the live collection Vivus! plus Chuck Schuldiner projects MANTAS & CONTROL DENIED. Like those reissues, this collection will contain extensive liner notes from previous members and never-before-seen photos of the band. Pre-order options, including a new line of exclusive DEATH merch and a super limited die-hard fan pack containing an exclusive shirt design, poster flag, and patch / pin / guitar pick / sticker set can be found at this location.
For additional information on DEATH, visit the official Death archival website or Facebook page.
Spiritual Healing Tracklisting:
Disc 1
Spiritual Healing – Remastered

1 Living Monstrosity
2 Altering The Future
3 Defensive Personalities
4 Within The Mind
5 Spiritual Healing
6 Low Life
7 Genetic Reconstruction
8 Killing Spree
Disc 2
Spiritual Healing – Rehearsals

1 Altering The Future
2 Defensive Personalities
3 Within The Mind
4 Within The Mind – Take 2
5 Spiritual Healing
6 Killing Spree
Spiritual Healing – Studio Instrumentals
7 Defensive Personalities
8 Spiritual Healing
9 Within The Mind
Joke / Jam Tracks
10 Satanic Jam
11 Primus Jam
12 Jon a Qua – Take 2
13 Jon a Qua – Take 3
14 Jon a Qua – Take 4
15 Jon a Qua – Take 5
16 Jon a Qua – Take 6
Disc 3
Live at Streets, New Rochelle, NY March 17th, 1990

1 Living Monstrosity
2 Pull The Plug
3 Zombie Ritual
4 Spiritual Healing
5 Left To Die
6 Defensive Personalities
7 Genetic Reconstruction
8 Open Casket
9 Within The Mind
10 Leprosy
Unearthed Pre-Human Rehearsals
11 Suicide Machine
12 Together As One
13 See Through Dreams
Digital Deluxe ONLY Bonus Tracks
14 Suicide Machine – Unearthed Version 2
15 Suicide Machine – Unearthed Version 3
16 Suicide Machine – Unearthed Version 4
17 Together As One – Unearthed Version 1
18 See Through Dreams – Unearthed Version 2

Follow me on Twitter – @keepitwolfson

— Josh Huddleston

Leave a Comment, Show Some Love

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s