BIG|BRAVE Announce New Album “Au De La”, Release Trailer

Montreal’s Big|Brave have announced the release of their sophomore full-length and follow-up to last year’s Feral Verdure. The new album will be titled Au De La and will see a release through Southern Lord on September 18. Recorded with Godspeed You! Black Emperor‘s Efrim Menuck, Au De La will feature five new compositions that experiment with the likes of post-rock, alternative, shoegaze and many other styles. The release will be their first for Southern Lord and the band had the following comments regarding that:

“As artists, it is extremely validating that Southern Lord Recordings is so keen to be working with us. Since the inception of our band, we have been working relentlessly on our craft and to now be recognized by our peers, we could not be happier. Being so incredibly pleased to be working Southern Lord for this new record, it also gives us so much hope for what is to come next. With a label that has put out so many innovative and genre-defying records and a pronounced supporter of experimental heavy music, as a band and sound creators, our sonic exploration and experimentation can only continue to flourish. All possible pressures of limitations abolished, we feel honored, inspired and the future is bright.”

The album’s artwork, track listing and trailer can be found below along with a stream of their debut album.

Continue reading


Godspeed You! Black Emperor Announce Tour [photo by Eva Vermandel]

Canadian post-rock titans Godspeed You! Black Emperor have announced a Fall tour in support of their most recent full-length release, Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress. The trek will commence on September 9 in Washington, DC and will conclude on October 29 in Paris with a performance at the Pitchfork Music Festival. The tour dates can be found after the break.

Continue reading

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR Streaming New Album “Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress”

Cinematic post-rock titans Godspeed You! Black Emperor have premiered their forthcoming fifth full-length album, and follow up to 2012’s  ’​Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress, over at The Guardian. The album will be officially released through Constellation Records on March 31 and can be pre-ordered here. The four-track opus acts as one long, behemoth-sized 40-minute composition that is as expansive as anything in their back catalog. Stream the album for yourself at this location.

GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR Announce New Album “Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress”, Preview New Track


Canadian cinematic post rock legends Godspeed You! Black Emperor have announced the release of their fifth full length album and follow up to 2012’s Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!. The new album (artwork above) will be titled Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress , which will be one multi-movement 40-minute composition, and will be released through Constellation Records on March 31. Pre-orders can be obtained here. On the new record, Constellation had the following to say:

“Known to fans and through live show recordings by the sobriquet “Behemoth”, GYBE has gradually distilled this new work down to a fastidious and uncompromising essence in the studio, with the swing-time swagger of the opening unison riff in “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’” giving way to increasing microtonal divergences and an exhilarating immersion in the harmonic power of massed amplified instruments, before collapsing into some of the most visceral and unalloyed noise/drone the band has yet committed to tape on “Lambs’ Breath” and “’Asunder, Sweet’”. The album closes with “Piss Crowns Are Trebled”, a classic 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos”

An eight-minute except from the album’s opening movement, “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!'” can be found after the break along with the album’s track listing.

Continue reading

NINE INCH NAILS Are Back And Haunted: New Track And Fall North American Tour

Above is the official artwork for Nine Inch Nails’ forthcoming album, Hesitation Marks, which is due to be released on September 3rd through Columbia Records. Pre-orders for the effort and the official stream of the first single can be found here. The new single, which can be streamed below as well, is entitled “Came Back Haunted” and calls back to the wobbling bass and glitchy electronics of 2007 album Year Zero.  Also, Nine Inch Nails will be embarking on an extensive North American tour this Fall, seeing support by the likes of Explosions in the Sky and Godspeed You! Black Emperor on select dates. You can check out the new single and the official tour schedule below. Pre sale information for the tour can be found here.

Continue reading