EVAN BREWER Debuts New Song/Announces Tour Dates


Bassist Evan Brewer has officially announced the release date of his sophomore solo album, Your Itinerary, as July 16th. The Sumerian Records-due Your Itinerary will boast the full-band addition of guitars, drums, piano and electronics from collaborators and peers such as Navene Koperweis (Animals As Leaders, Reflux), pianist Jeremiah Abel, and drummer Kyle Reese in contrast to the sole electric bass grooves of Alone. In turn, Evan has announced plans for a Summer tour alongside progressive metal act, Last Chance To Reason, in which he will be supported by drummer Alex Rudinger of The Faceless and Brandon Giffin of Cynic. Stream a new track entitled “Microscopic Scale”, peep the full tour details and check out what Evan Brewer, himself, had to say about the new developments, all after the jump.  Pre-order Your Itinerary hereContinue reading

WANZWA Streaming New Album

The Georgia based instrumental progressive rock group Wanzwa, whom you may have heard on our Speak No Evil II compilation, are currently streaming their third full length record on Youtube. Wanzwa III is what you would come to expect out of these guys and more. It’s a little heavier than its predecessor but still features a lot of irreverent wackiness that makes the band stand out. Stream the new album after the jump. Details on how to acquire the album will be made available in the coming weeks over at the band’s official website.

Continue reading

MISERY SIGNALS Frontman Posts Instrumental MESHUGGAH Cover

Misery Signals frontman Karl Schubach has uploaded an instrumental cover of Meshuggah’s “Do Not Look Down” to his Soundcloud. It is a very, very faithful rendition in that it sounds 95% like the original. Listen below and check out the original.

Continue reading


Instrumental post-rock outfit, Caspian, have checked in with an update on the status of their upcoming full length. It turns out that the recording will commence TOMORROW. This is what the band had to say regarding the new album:

“We’ve finished writing our new album and will begin recording January 2 with production from Matt Bayles (Minus The Bear, Mastodon, Isis) and Will Benoit(Constants, Radar Studios).

We’ll be tracking the bulk of it at Q Division in Boston with Matt and then heading down to Will‘s for extra work all month.

Mixing will be happening out in Seattle late-April at Red Room, and we hope to get this out to you sometime late summer / early fall 2012! It’s been quite an experience putting this one together and we’re excited to get this started…”

Looks like I have another release to look forward to next year!

-Lane Oliver

Thanks to The PRP for the update.



Saxophone virtuoso, Colin Stetson, released his new EP Those Who Didn’t Run a few days ago on Constellation Records. If you are not familiar with Stetson’s work, you are missing out. He does things with the saxophone I didn’t even think were possible! The EP features two tracks that are slightly over the ten minute mark and do not disappoint. I recommend you check this out immediately. Also, check out his most recent album, New History Warfare Volume II: Judges, which was released earlier this year. Stream the new EP below!

-Lane Oliver


Instrumental technical metal enthusiasts, Blotted Science have released an edit of a new song “Omitted Eyes” from their upcoming album, The Animation of Entomology. It’s one minute and twenty-six seconds of jazzy, tech metal goodness that will leave you salivating and hungry for more. The new album will feature twenty four minutes of new music over the span of seven tracks. It will be released October 4th! Check out “Omitted Eyes” below!

-Lane Oliver